east-west talent lab


goEast fosters and connects young filmmakers and artists from Central and Eastern Europe and the Rhine-Main region. A multi-faceted educational program has been developed specifically for the 30 participants in the East-West Talent Lab. The events and activities of the Lab are divided into four program areas: Screen, Meet, Learn and Present.

Screen: Young artists present a total of ten works and compete for the Open Frame Award, endowed with prize money in the amount of 5,000 euros.

Meet: Numerous events provide Lab participants with the opportunity to share ideas and experiences and network. Here they can meet industry representatives, present their project ideas and/or find co-production partners.

Learn: The Lab's extensive educational program encompasses panel discussions, lectures, workshops and master classes.

Present: The participants of the East-West Talent Lab will present 14 selected project ideas from the areas of short fiction film, documentary film, experimental film, video art and interactive projects/VR to an expert jury and an attending audience. Each presenter will be allotted five minutes for their pitch, which will be followed by immediate feedback from the expert jury. The best pitch will be honoured with the goEast Development Award, which has been presented since 2014 and is endowed with prize money in the amount of 3,500 euros. The jury will announce the winning project in the scope of the goEast awards ceremony.

Call for Applications

From now on, young filmmakers and artists from Central and Estern Europe and Germany can apply for the East-West Talent Lab 2018. The application form can be found here. The deadline is 28.02.2018.

Call for Entries

In 2018 the Open Frame Award competition will re-invent itself. For the first time, the Deutsches Filminstitut – DIF and goEast will present a selection of artistically ambitious virtual reality projects by young visual artists and filmmakers from Central and Eastern Europe, as well as from Hessen-based art and film schools. Non-linear, non-narrative projects that allow the viewer to explore new worlds and go beyond the boundaries of film, visual art and technology, will find their place here. The Open Frame Award, endowed with 5,000 euros in prize money, is funded by the BHF-BANK Foundation.
The Call for Entries is now open. The entry form is available here.
Deadline: 26.02.2018


Coordinator East-West Talent Lab
Andrea Wink

Open Frame Award

east-west talent lab

EAST-WEST TALENT LAB
goEast fördert und vernetzt junge Filmschaffende und KünstlerInnen aus Mittel- und Osteuropa und der Rhein-Main-Region. Für die 30 TeilnehmerInnen des East-West Talent Lab wurde ein vielseitiges Fortbildungsangebot konzipiert. Das Lab ist in vier Programmbereiche unterteilt: Screen, Meet, Learn und Present.

Screen: Junge FilmemacherInnen und KünstlerInnen konkurrieren um den mit 5.000 Euro dotierten Open Frame Award.

Meet: Bei zahlreichen Events haben die LabteilnehmerInnen die Gelegenheit zum Austausch und Networking. Sie treffen auf BranchenvertreterInnen, können ihre Projektideen vorstellen und/oder PartnerInnen für Koproduktionen finden.

Learn: Das umfangreiche Fortbildungsprogramm beinhaltet Podiumsdiskussionen, Vorträge, Workshops und Masterclasses.

Present: Die TeilnehmerInnen des East-West Talent Lab präsentieren vor Publikum und einer Fachjury ihre 14 ausgewählten Projektideen aus den Bereichen Kurzspiel- und Dokumentarfilm sowie Experimentalfilm und Videokunst. Der jeweilige Pitch beläuft sich auf fünf Minuten, dem schließt sich ein direktes Feedback der Fachjury an. Der beste Pitch gewinnt den mit 3.500 Euro dotierten und seit 2014 vergebenen goEast Development Award. Das Siegerprojekt wird im Rahmen der goEast-Preisverleihung von der Jury bekannt gegeben.

Call for Applications

Ab sofort können sich junge FilmemacherInnen und KünstlerInnen aus Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie aus Deutschland für den East-West Talent Lab 2018 bewerben. Das Bewerbungsformular finden Sie hier. Die Einreichfrist endet am 28.02.2018.

Call for Entries

2018 wird sich der Open Frame Award-Wettbewerb neu erfinden. Zum ersten Mal werden das Deutsche Filminstitut – DIF und goEast eine Auswahl künstlerisch ambitionierter Virtual Reality-Arbeiten junger Künstler/-innen und Filmemacher/-innen aus Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie von hessischen Film- und Kunsthochschulen präsentieren. Nicht-linear erzählte Projekte, die den Zuschauer in neue Welten eintauchen lassen und die Grenzen von Film, bildender Kunst und Technologie ausloten, finden hier einen Platz. Der Open Frame Award ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert und wird von der BHF-BANK-Stiftung ermöglicht.

Einreichungen sind ab sofort möglich. Das Einreichformular finden Sie hier.
Deadline: 15.02.2018

Kontakt

Koordinatorin East-West Talent Lab
Andrea Wink
ed.tsaEog-lavitsefmlif@kniw

OPEN FRAME AWARD
ed.tsaEog-lavitsefmlif@yrtne