SVETA SVETA

How does a deaf Russian woman living in today’s Kazakhstan manage to stay afloat? Maybe like this: by never ever showing weakness or compassion, taking hold of her own destiny despite a physical handicap and – where there’s no alternative – being prepared to stop at absolutely nothing. At least that’s how Sveta sees it. The young mother is anxious about her family’s well-being, about the mortgage she can’t pay off and about her job, which she is at risk of losing to a co-worker with less experience. She can’t get her head around the fact that her husband can sleep peacefully at night, while it seems her whole life may soon run off the rails. No matter what happens – Sveta will do whatever it takes to keep her family from landing on the street and her two kids from having to grow up in a home.
Director Zhanna Issabayeva paints the portrait of a woman caught up in a desperate struggle, breaking with the image of physically challenged individuals as victims by depicting her protagonist Sveta (played by deaf actress Laura Koroleva) as a person willing to commit violence who takes revenge on society while stoking a fiery inner rage.
Director
Zhanna Issabayeva
Born in 1968 in Almaty, Kazakhstan. She graduated from the journalism faculty of Al-Farabi Kazakh National University in 1991. She has worked as a producer and director since 1993. Issabayeva writes and produces almost all of her movies herself. With KAROY she realized her feature film debut in 2007. In the following years she has consistently directed movies, among them BOPEM, which was shown in the goEast Competition in 2016.
2007 // KAROY 2009 // DOROGIE MOI DETI / MY DEAR CHILDREN 2012 // TALGAT 2015 // BOPEM 2017 // SVETA
Trailer
präsentiert von:
Botschaft der Republik Kasachstan

Kazahkstan 2017
95 min, DCP, colour


Russian
OV with English Subs

Director

Zhanna Issabayeva

Screenplay

Zhanna Issabayeva

Camera

Mikhail Blintsov

Editor

Azamat Altybasov

Sound

Andrey Rezinkin

Cast

Laura Koroleva
Roman Lystsov

Producer(s)

Iliya Bisserov

Production

Sun Production

Vorstellungen:

SVETA SVETA

Wie schafft es eine gehörlose russische Frau im heutigen Kasachstan, den Kopf über Wasser zu halten? So könnte es funktionieren: bloß keine Schwäche oder Mitgefühl zeigen, trotz körperlicher Behinderung das Schicksal in die eigene Hand nehmen und – wenn es sein muss – sogar über Leichen gehen. So sieht das zumindest Sveta. Die junge Mutter bangt um das Wohl ihrer Familie, um die Hypothek, die sie nicht abbezahlen kann und um ihren Job, den sie an eine Kollegin mit weniger Erfahrung zu verlieren droht. Sie kann nicht begreifen, dass ihr Mann nachts ruhig schlafen kann, während ihr ganzes Leben zu entgleisen droht. Egal was passiert – Sveta wird alles tun, um zu vermeiden, dass die Familie auf der Straße landet und ihre beiden Kinder in einem Heim aufwachsen müssen.
Regisseurin Zhanna Issabayeva zeichnet das Porträt einer verzweifelt kämpfenden Frau und durchbricht das Bild von Menschen mit Behinderung als Opfer, in dem sie ihre Protagonistin Sveta (gespielt von der gehörlosen Schauspielerin Laura Koroleva) als gewaltbereiten Menschen inszeniert, der sich voll innerlicher Wut an der Gesellschaft rächt.
Regie
Zhanna Issabayeva
Geboren 1968 in Almaty, Kasachstan. 1991 schloss sie ihr Studium an der journalistischen Fakultät der staatlichen Al-Farabi-Universität ab. Als Produzentin und Regisseurin arbeitet sie seit 1993 und schreibt und produziert bis heute fast all ihre Projekte selbst. 2007 stellte sie mit KAROY ihren ersten Langspielfilm fertig. In den darauffolgenden Jahren drehte sie stetig Filme, unter anderem BOPEM, der 2016 ebenfalls im goEast Wettbewerb lief.
2007 // KAROY 2009 // DOROGIE MOI DETI / MY DEAR CHILDREN 2012 // TALGAT 2015 // BOPEM 2017 // SVETA
Trailer
präsentiert von:

Kasachstan 2017
95 min, DCP, colour


Russisch
Original mit englischen Untertiteln

Regie

Zhanna Issabayeva

Buch

Zhanna Issabayeva

Kamera

Mikhail Blintsov

Schnitt

Azamat Altybasov

Sound

Andrey Rezinkin

Darsteller_Innen

Laura Koroleva
Roman Lystsov

Produzent_Innen

Iliya Bisserov

Produktion

Sun Production

Vorstellungen:
Samstag, 21.04.2018, 20:00 Uhr
Caligari FilmBühne

Sonntag, 22.04.2018, 16:00 Uhr
Apollo Kinocenter

Sonntag, 22.04.2018, 20:30 Uhr
Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums, FFM