CINEMA
archipelago

 

With Cinema Archipelago, goEast is departing for new shores. Sponsored by Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain, the new supporting programme aims to exploit the full potential of innovative audio-visual forms of expression and to create a place for forward-looking artistry and solidarity-based networking. Between digital spaces, social media platforms and the Yugoslav carpet room in Landesmuseum Wiesbaden, five international curators will explore the interfaces between film, community and the creative process in the scope of their programmes.

Here, for instance, the Yugoretten will come together for the first time. Intitiated by Mateja Meded and Jasmina Musić, this collective of women from the former Yugoslavia seeks to enable a multi-medial exchange in the tradition of the anti-fascist women’s front. Under the title “Stories from the Bathhouse”, the XR Hackathon will whisk us away to a digital spa: our virtual reality curator Georgy Molodtsov has invited creative teams from diverse countries to build a virtual bathhouse together, where guests can pass the time via their avatars. In addition, goEast takes a daring look at TikTok and webcams pointed eastwards, while devoting itself, with Senior Cinema, to an oft overlooked group of cinemagoers.

XR/VR Hackathon

goEast and guest curator Georgy Molodtsov have invited four teams of independent VR artists to collaborate on a joint project: the creation of an interactive virtual space, in which creators and guests can meet up.

With a special VR programe goEast draws focus on Ukraine. A selection of five projects from the Open Frame Award 2018 to 2021 by ukrainian artists or with Ukraine as subject enables a special perspective on the country, ist history and situation.

Rhein-Main Kurzfilmrolle

The Rhein Main Short Film Programme is a place for exciting short film art from Central and Eastern Europe. Eight short films – ranging from five to twenty minutes, from entertaining to reverberating, from North Macedonia to Kazhakstan – present a diverse portfolio, which tours the region after the festival.

To the Internet & Back

TikTok, webcams, remix culture – the internet is not only a place for differentiating art and culture but also for the get-together of people. A few exciting and well-curated programmes which try to get to the bottom of this phenomenons are presented under the title “To The Internet and Back”.

Senior Cinema

With Senior Cinema, we have committed ourselves to enabling participation in the scope of our festival for this most excluded group in the cultural landscape, particularly during the pandemic.

Yugoretten – Balkanfrauennetzwerk

Yugorettes – that’s the collective moniker for Jasmina Musić, Mateja Meded and their network of women from former Yugoslavia. You can get to know the multimedia project on Instagram and at their kick-off event during goEast.

CINEMA
archipelago

 

Mit dem Cinema Archipelago bricht goEast auf zu neuen Ufern. Unterstützt vom Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain hat sich das neue Rahmenprogramm zum Ziel gesetzt, innovative audiovisuelle Ausdrucksformen auszuloten und einen Ort für zukunftsweisendes, künstlerisches Schaffen und solidarische Vernetzung zu kreieren. Zwischen digitalen Räumen, Social Media-Plattformen und dem jugoslawischen Teppichraum im Landesmuseum Wiesbaden erkunden fünf internationale Kurator:innen in ihren Programmen die Schnittstellen von Film, Gemeinschaft und kreativem Prozess.

So kommen beispielsweise die Yugoretten zum ersten Mal zusammen. Als von Mateja Meded und Jasmina Musić initiiertes Kollektiv von Frauen aus dem ehemaligen Jugoslawien soll hier ein multimedialer Austausch in Tradition der antifaschistischen Frauenfront ermöglicht werden. In ein digitales Spa entführt uns der XR Hackathon unter dem Titel „Geschichten aus dem Badehaus“ unseres Virtual Reality-Kurators Georgy Molodtsov, der Teams aus verschiedenen Ländern eingeladen hat, um ein virtuelles Badehaus zu bauen, in dem sich die Gäste mit ihren Avataren aufhalten können. Außerdem wagt goEast einen Blick auf TikTok, durch Webcams in den Osten und widmet sich mit dem Senior Cinema einer oft übersehenen Gruppe von Kinogänger:innen.

XR/VR Hackathon

goEast und Gastkurator Georgy Molodtsov haben vier Teams von unabhängigen VR-Künstler:innen eingeladen, an einem gemeinsamen Projekt zu arbeiten: Ein interaktives virtuelles Badehaus entsteht, in dem sich Gestalter:innen und Besucher:innen treffen können.

Außerdem lenkt goEast mit einem besonderen VR-Programm einen Fokus auf die Ukraine. Eine Auswahl aus vier VR-Projekten des Open Frame Awards von 2018 bis 2021 von ukrainischen Künstler:innen oder über die Ukraine soll eine besondere Perspektive auf das Land sowie seine Geschichte und Situation ermöglichen.

Rhein-Main Kurzfilmrolle

Die RheinMain Kurzfilmrolle bietet spannende Filmkunst aus Mittel- und Osteuropa. Acht Filme – von 5 bis 20 Minuten, von kurzweilig bis nachbrennend, von Nordmazedonien bis Kasachstan – präsentieren ein abwechslungsreiches Portfolio, das nach dem Festival auf Tour durch die Kinos der Rhein-Main-Region geht.

To the Internet & Back

TikTok, Webcams, Remix Culture – im Internet differenziert sich nicht nur Kunst und Kultur, sondern auch das Zusammenleben der Menschen in unerwartete Richtungen aus. Unter dem Titel „To The Internet and Back“ verbergen sich mehrere spannend kuratierte Programme, die diesen Phänomenen auf den Grund gehen.

Senior Cinema

Mit dem Senior Cinema machen wir es uns zur Aufgabe, die Teilhabe gerade dieser während der Pandemie meist exkludierten Gruppe an der kulturellen Landschaft, im Rahmen unseres Festivals zu ermöglichen.

Yugoretten – Balkanfrauennetzwerk

Yugoretten – das sind Jasmina Musić, Mateja Meded und ihr Netzwerk aus Frauen des ehemaligen Jugoslawiens. Auf Instagram und beim Kick-Off Event während goEast kann man das multimediale Projekt kennenlernen.