KEEPING AN EYE ON THE EAST

In the Cinema Archipelago programme, goEast explores the significance of public space – both in real life and online. The webcam programme KEEPING AN EYE ON THE EAST brings both of these together: our curator has assembled a series of seemingly arbitrary, unexplored spots in Central and Eastern Europe for your viewing pleasure, especially for those individuals who still find themselves affected by the pandemic, when everything is closed and travelling abroad is impossible. Now you can become a voyeur from the comfort of your own home!

POLAND

TikTok for Dummies

Vertical videos and anthropological research on the big screen: for the first time ever, goEast is presenting a programme culled from TikTok that also gives audience members who have not yet discovered the app a medial look at the subcultures of Eastern Europe. The medium is especially popular with young users – you only need a smartphone and the app to get rolling as an amateur video producer. The trend is creating a new generation of “auteurs” who have made the medium their own, processing pop-culture references, clever hashtags and stitched-together dialogues in their videos. Migrants, queer communities, dissatisfied citizens or loners with extreme opinions and niche hobbies connect up on TikTok, where they find a platform to share with the like-minded. Since the onset of the Russian war of aggression in Ukraine, the medium has increasingly become a political tool as well: most recently, politicians have been briefing influencers about how they should report on the war. TikTok is a source of entertainment, but it is also a venue for simplification and disinformation. It is often unclear where the videos originate, when they were recorded or which country they were created in. But young Ukrainians have also been using the app to report on their everyday lives or their efforts to flee the country. In Russia, the platform was banned on 6 March 2022, in connection with a new law that deals harshly with organisations accused of spreading “fake news”.

Screenings

Theater im Pariser Hof Sun, 24.04. / 20:00
Free Entrance / Tickets will be available at the cinema

SHORT FILM REMIX BATTLE

The countries of Central and Eastern Europe have a long and fruitful tradition both in hip-hop and other forms of music that feature the use of sampling – from Animals Cannibals to Husky. In the field of electronic music, the remix battle is a widespread phenomenon – now, goEast has decided to get in the ring too, at least as applies to film and video. One of the primary techniques in the genre is sampling, the incorporation and processing of existing material to create something original. These rules also apply for our SHORT FILM REMIX BATTLE. We invited short film makers to submit their works as raw material for remixing, and encouraged established and aspiring creatives to produce new films that react to the works at hand. The winner of the SHORT FILM REMIX BATTLE will be invited to the festival to present their film on the big screen, while the other entries will be made available for viewing on our website.

Screenings

Theater im Pariser Hof Sun, 24.04. / 21:30
Free Entrance / Tickets will be available at the cinema

DEN OSTEN IM AUGE BEHALTEN

Im Programm Cinema Archipelago erforscht goEast die Bedeutung von öffentlichen Räumen – sowohl im realen Leben als auch online. Das Webcam-Programm DEN OSTEN IM AUGE BEHALTEN bringt beides zusammen: Besonders für die Menschen, die immer noch von der Pandemie betroffen sind, wenn alles geschlossen ist und Reisen ins Ausland unmöglich sind – hat unser Kurator eine Reihe von scheinbar zufälligen, unerforschten Ecken Mittel- und Osteuropas versammelt. Ganz bequem von zu Hause aus können auch Sie nun zum Voyeur werden!

LETTLAND

TikTok für Anfänger

Hochkantvideos und anthropologische Spurensuche auf der großen Leinwand: Zum ersten Mal veranstaltet goEast ein TikTok-Programm, das auch für ein Publikum, das die App noch nicht entdeckt hat, einen medialen Blick in die Subkulturen Osteuropas vermittelt. Das Medium ist vor allem bei jungen User:innen beliebt, man braucht nur ein Handy und die App und los geht’s mit der Amateur-Videoproduktion. So entsteht eine neue Generation „Auteur:innen“, die sich das Medium zu eigen gemacht haben und popkulturelle Referenzen, kluge Hashtags und Stitch-Dialoge in ihren Videos verarbeiten. Migrant:innen, queere Communities, unzufriedene Bürger:innen oder Einzelgänger:innen mit krassen Meinungen und Hobbys vernetzen sich bei TikTok und finden hier eine Plattform mit Gleichgesinnten. Seit Anfang des russischen Angriffskriegs in der Ukraine, wurde das Medium zunehmend zum politischen Tool: Neuerdings briefen Politiker:innen Influencer:innen darüber, wie sie über den Krieg berichten sollen. TikTok ist eine Quelle für Entertainment, aber auch ein Ort für Simplifizierungen und Desinformation. Oft ist unklar, wo die Videos herkommen, wann sie aufgenommen wurden oder in welchem Land sie entstanden. Junge Ukrainer:innen berichten in der App aber auch über ihren Alltag, oder die Flucht aus dem Land. In Russland wurde die Plattform am 6. März 2022 verboten, in Zusammenhang mit dem neuen Gesetz, das hart gegen Organisationen vorgeht, wenn sie „Fake News“ verbreiten.

Vorstellungen

Theater im Pariser Hof So, 24.04. / 20:00
Eintritt frei / Tickets an der Abendkasse

SHORT FILM REMIX BATTLE

Die Länder Mittel- und Osteuropas haben eine lange und fruchtbare Tradition sowohl im Hip-Hop als auch in anderen Formen gesampelter Musik – von Animals Cannibals bis Husky. Im Felde der elektronischen Musik ist das Remix Battle ein weitverbreitetes Phänomen, und goEast hat beschlossen sich auch im Bereich Film und Video daran anzuschließen. Eine der Haupttechniken des Genres ist das Sampling: die Verwendung und Bearbeitung von vorhandenem Material, um etwas Neues daraus zu schaffen. Diese Regeln gelten auch beim SHORT FILM REMIX BATTLE Wir luden Kurzfilmschaffende ein, ihre Filme als Ausgangsmaterial einzureichen und ermutigten Kreativen und solche, die es werden wollten, neue Filme zu erstellen, die auf die vorliegenden Werke reagieren. Der oder die Gewinner:in des SHORT FILM REMIX BATTLE wird zum Festival eingeladen, um seinen Film im Kino zu präsentieren. Die anderen Ergebnisse können auf unserer Webseite eingesehen werden.

Vorstellungen

Theater im Pariser Hof So, 24.04. / 21:30
Eintritt frei / Tickets an der Abendkasse